Sports Gist, Strictly Naija


18 August 2017 NewsSport

The Nigeria Athletics Masters has listed no fewer than 30 masters athletes and three officials for the forthcoming 2017 African Masters Championships.

The championships will hold from Aug.25 to Aug.27 in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire.

NAM’s Secretary, Uruemu Adu, made this known to newsmen  in Lagos that the Masters athletes will not let the country down at the championships.

Nigeria won 30 gold, six silver and three bronze medals at the 2016 edition and clinched the second position on the medal table.

Masters athletics is an event for veteran athletes in the track and field, road running and cross country.

The competitions usually featured five-year age groups beginning from the age of 35.

Men as old as 105 and women in their 100s have competed in running, jumping and throwing events in some countries.

Those listed by NAM in the female category are: Obeleye Horsfall, Eurenia Iheagwam and Ifeanyi John-Udueze to feature in discus/shot-put, Mercy Edward for 5000m, 1500m and 4x100m, Irene Aneto 10,000m, 5,000m and 4x100m.

Safiya Yahaya-Kongoila will feature in 100m, 200m and 4x100m, Elizabeth Johnson will feature in Javelin /Hammer, Asigobaka Briggs is for hammer/shot-put, while Linda Osifo is for long jump and Triple Jump.

In the male category are: Azi Ishaya for 10,000m and 10km road race, Dele Ige for triple jump, long jump and 4x100m.

Adeleke Abimbola, Oyewole Adeboye and Richard Ogunleye are for 100m, 200m, 4x100m and 4x400m.

Solomon Achi is for long jump, triple jump, 4x100m and 4x400m, Michael Ofili is for 100m and 4x100m, while Alexander Udjoh is for hammer, 400m and 4x400m.

Jade Niboro is for 100m and 4x100m, Akin Akindamola will feature in 200m, 400m and 4x400m, Dele Abubakar is for the 400m and 4x400m.

Others listed are: Ibrahim Aliyu, Richard Okoh, Idris Ibrahim, Adeleke Kalejaiye, Clifford Omoghiboria, Yakubu Suberu, Oladipupo Seriki, Reuben Esabunor, Emmanuel Agbon.

Samuel Ajayi, Aderibigbe Folawiyo, Kelvin Aniemeka, Solomon Nwokoma, Steady Idisi, Olusegun Ajiboye.

Solomon Aliyu is the team coach, Abubakar Aliyu will be the teams’ manager and Uruemu Adu is the head of delegation. 

Rivers Hoopers Makes Finals Of The 2017 Kwese Premier Basketball League

Rivers Hoopers Basketball Club have qualified for the finals of the 2017 Kwese Premier Basketball League, with a 76-69 points win over Oluyole Warriors of Ibadan on Thursday in Ilorin.

Hoopers Media Officer, Queen John,  made this known in a statement in Port Harcourt .

John said that Solomon Ajegbeyi continued his fine form in the playoffs season, with his second double-double in two days and the sixth of the season.

She said that Ajegbeyi made 10 points and 12 rebounds while Emmanuel Balogun added 13 points.

“It was a crucial game for the Warriors who had lost their opening two games and a win against Hoopers, would have given them a better chance of qualifying for this year’s finals,” she said.

According to John, Orji Awusakun scored 16 points and 7 rebounds to lead two other Warriors, Sunday Aribiyun with 15 points and Richard Odo who dunked 11 points and 8 rebounds.

“With four minutes left in the second quarter, the Kings men built a 15 points lead which was later reduced with a 7-2 run by the Warriors heading to the break.

“The last quarter saw the Hoopers defense broken down by the fearless Warriors who outscored the Ogoh Odaudu led team 21-17.

“The Ibadan based side did all they could from the 3 point range making 4 of 19 in the game, but was little too late for them.

Dangote To Sack Arsene Wenger If….

John said that Kwara Falcons, Rivers Hoopers and Hoops & Read qualified for the finals of the 2017 KPBL, after match day 3 of the Atlantic Conference six playoffs on Aug. 17 in Ilorin.

She said only four teams from each of the conferences would qualify for the finals of the 2017 KPBL.

The statement added that Hoopers Coach Ogoh Odaudu was excited that his team had qualified for the final 8.

“I feel good even though we didn’t play well like we are supposed to play, it’s still a victory and I’ll go home with it.

“I am very happy we have qualified for the final 8, we have two more games to play and two more days to take care of business,’’coach Odaudu said.


Enugu Rangers         v      Katsina United Nnamdi                   Azikiwe Stadium 17:00

Kano Pillars                v    Abia Warriors                                        Sani Abacha Stadium 17:00

Wikki Tourists FC  v    Remo Stars                                               Abubaka Tafawa Balewa Stadium 17:00

Sunshine Stars        v   Niger Tornadoes                                     Akure Township Stadium 17:00

Shooting Stars SC  v  Nasarawa United                                   Lekan Salami Stadium 17:00

FC IfeanyiUbah      v    Akwa United                                             Gabros Stadium 17:00

MFM FC                   v   Gombe United                                             Agege Stadium 17:00

ABS F.C.                   v    Plateau United                                            Kwara State Stadium 17:00

Rivers United FC v Enyimba                                                              Yakubu Gowon Stadium 17:00

Lobi Stars                v    El-Kanemi Warriors                                   Aper Aku Stadium 17:00

, , , ,

Let’s block ads! (Why?)